57 Residents Receive The Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal

Wednesday, Sep. 19, 2012

Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield and Central Services Minister Nancy Heppner will present 57 Saskatchewan residents with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal at two ceremonies in Saskatoon today.

“The Queen has chosen the theme of service for this milestone year, and so it is most appropriate that Canada created a Diamond Jubilee Medal, which celebrates both Her Majesty’s lifetime of service and the outstanding contributions of deserving citizens,” Solomon Schofield said.  “On behalf of our sovereign, I thank each medal recipient for their commitment to the greater good.”

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee began in February 2012, in celebration of the 60 year reign of Queen Elizabeth II.  The Royal Canadian Mint created 60,000 medals, which will be awarded to outstanding Canadians of all ages and from all walks of life, across the country.  

Further medals will be presented in Regina later this month. 

“Each recipient of this medal has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the communities they call home and to the people of Saskatchewan. They have made our province a better place and for that we thank them,” Heppner said.
For more information on the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal or more information on Jubilee festivities, the province's history with the monarchy, and the role of the Crown in Saskatchewan visit www.jubileesk.ca.


For more information, contact
Jay Teneycke
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-798-6095
Cell: 529-8630
Email: jay.teneycke@gov.sk.ca

Saskatchewan Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients
September 19, 2012
2:00 pm

• Mr. Jean-Baptiste Arcand, C.M., Saskatoon
• Mr. Robert Roy Atkinson, C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Richard Baltzan, O.C., Saskatoon
• Dr. David A. Christensen, C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Keith Downey, O.C., Saskatoon
• Dr. Delwyn Fredlund, O.C., Saskatoon
• Mr. Tom Gauley, C.M., Q.C., Saskatoon
• Mr. Joseph Harvey Gjesdal, C.M., Birch Hills
• Mrs. Henrietta Goplen, C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Bryan Harvey, O.C., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• The Honourable Lynda Haverstock, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Louis Horlick, O.C., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. C. Stuart Houston, O.C., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. David Kaplan, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Ms. Dorothy Knowles, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Kamal Midha, C.M., Saskatoon
• Ms. Rita Mirwald, C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Howard Nixon, O.C., Saskatoon
• Ms. Eloise Opheim, C.M., Saskatoon
• Mr. William Perehudoff, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Mr. Herbert Charles Pinder, Sr., C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Ali H. Rajput, O.C., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Mr. Oren Robison, C.M., Nipawin
• The Honourable Roy Romanow, P.C., O.C., S.O.M., Q.C., Saskatoon
• Mr. Allen Sapp, O.C., S.O.M., North Battleford
• The Honourable Herbert R. Sparrow, C.M., Senator, North Battleford
• Mr. Howard Stensrud, C.M., Saskatoon
• Dr. Charles M. (Red) Williams, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon
• Mr. Clifford Wright, O.C., S.O.M., Saskatoon



Saskatchewan Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients
September 19, 2012
7:00 pm

• Mr. Al Anderson, Saskatoon
• Ms. Ashley Baerg, Dalmeny
• Ms. Siera Bearchell, Moose Jaw
• Mr. Robin Bellamy, S.V.M., Saskatoon
• Captain Aaron Buckingham, Lloydminster
• Ms. Florence Campbell, Meadow Lake
• Ms. Laura Carruthers, Frenchman Butte
• Mr. Mark Cooper, Saskatoon
• Mr. Andrew Donauer, Saskatoon
• Mr. Glenn Dougan, Saskatoon
• His Worship Allan Earle, Dalmeny
• Ms. Sophie Foster, Saskatoon
• Mr. Dylan Ginter, Saskatoon
• Mr. Lance Hammell, Saskatoon
• Mr. Steven Heidel, Prince Albert
• Mr. Al Hingley, Humboldt
• Ms. Jennifer Hoesgen, Watson
• Ms. Evelyn Johnston, Saskatoon
• Ms. Alana Krug-MacLeod, Saskatoon
• Ms. Anne Longmuir, Saskatoon
• Ms. Christine Magneson, Saskatoon
• Ms. Katja Marie Meszaros, Biggar
• Ms. Jennelle Minish, Rosetown
• Mr. Jeremy Packet, Lafleche
• Ms. Zoe Pontikes, Saskatoon
• Mr. Richard Porter, Shellbrook
• Ms. Zoe Roy, Saskatoon
• Ms. Nicole Vidal, Meadow Lake

  View All News & Events