Former Lieutenant Governors

The present Government House was built as a residence for the Lieutenant Governor of the Northwest Territories, with the first Lieutenant Governor taking residence in 1891.  Official residents of the present Government House were:

  • The Honourable Joseph Royal, 1891-1893
  • The Honourable Charles H. Mackintosh, 1893-1898
  • The Honourable Malcolm C. Cameron, June-September 1898 (died in office)
  • The Honourable Amédée Forget (First Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Saskatchewan), 1898-1910
  • The Honourable George W. Brown, 1910-1915
  • The Honourable Sir Richard S. Lake, 1915-1921
  • The Honourable Henry W. Newlands, 1921-1931
  • The Honourable Hugh E. Munroe, 1931-1936
  • The Honourable Archibald P. McNab, 1936-1945

In 1945, Government House ceased being the Lieutenant Governor's official residence.  The federal government leased the building for a veteran's rehabilitation centre.  Following renovations in 1958, it became an adult education facility, renamed Saskatchewan House.  During this time the Office of the Lieutenant Governor was moved to the Hotel Saskatchewan in downtown Regina.  In 1984, the Lieutenant Governor's working office returned to Government House.

Lieutenant Governors of the Province of Saskatchewan following 1945:

  • The Honourable Thomas Miller, February-April 1945 (died in office)
  • The Honourable Reginald J.M. Parker, 1945-1948
  • The Honourable John M. Uhrich, 1948-1951
  • The Honourable William J. Patterson, 1951-1958
  • The Honourable Frank L. Bastedo, 1958-1963
  • The Honourable Robert L. Hanbidge, 1963-1970
  • The Honourable Dr. Stephen Worobetz, 1970-1976
  • The Honourable George Porteous, 1976-1978
  • The Honourable C. Irwin McIntosh, 1978-1983
  • The Honourable Frederick W. Johnson, 1983-1988
  • The Honourable Dr. Sylvia O. Fedoruk, 1988-1994
  • The Honourable John E.N. Wiebe, 1994-2000
  • The Honourable Dr. Lynda M. Haverstock, 2000-2006
  • The Honourable Dr. Gordon L. Barnhart, 2006-2012
  • The Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield, 2012-2018